Discuss Should the installers be tanking my new shower? Advice greatly appreciated in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

W

WillemVan

Hello,

I am new to the forum and I have no experience whatsover when it comes to installing showers or even tiling so please be gentle with me.

I am paying a company to supply and fully fit a new en-suite in my house. My dad insists that I get the company to tank the shower so I went and spoke to the company but their response was they don't tank showers. The project manager told me there is no need and tiling on green plasterboard will suffice to make it waterproof.

I would greatly appreciate any opinions from you experts and any advice you could offer.

T

tfs

It is good practice to tank a shower area and for most of the guys on this forum I would bet that this would be thier prefference also (some probs woudnt touch a shower without doing it!)

It is however, very common for tilers/ bathroom companies to tile onto areas without tanking. They have at least used green plasterboard. In many cases it is the customer who does not want to pay the additional costs of having the tanking done.

I would suggest you ask the company to tank anyway but you should be happy enough to pay for the time and extra materials to have this done.

Hope this helps

S

Stewart

Tanking is a must IMO as it prevents further damage if the tiling fails, which it does occasionally. Cement based grouts are not waterproof and still allow some moisture through to the substrate. Green plasterboard is only moisture resistant and will break down if allowed to stay damp. I always install a membrane for tanking, and for very little cost, gives you greater peace of mind.

Below is a pic of green plasterboard that's been allowed to stay damp for a continued period of time from a leaking shower.
56a3d9a1-3cf7-0f7c.jpg
56a3d9a1-3d0f-f407.jpg

T

tfs