Discuss Shower tanking advice (yes another thread) - but a slight twist? in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

H

Herbie

Hi everyone,

Just looking for some advice? I am a reasonably newbie tiler but reasonably competent and have decided what I really need in my life is a shower over my bath (was just a bath previously).
There was a row of three tiles above the tub and then just painted wall so the solution appeared to me to be to tile to the ceiling, fit a screen and employ my friendly plumber to work his magic.
However - having taken the old tiles off, where I thought I would see left over adhesive and plaster is a band of unfinished plaster where presumably the bath fitted lower than the plasterer thought it would and slapped in and 'no one would ever know' as the tiles were going there....
So, where I thought I would (rightly or wrongly) dodge tanking as the tiles would be going onto a sealed wall, I am faced with a band of super porous bare plaster above the bath which is far from ideal.
Sooooooooooooo. How best to go about this? As I live in a flat I dont really want to be paying for downstairs bathroom to be decorated when it all goes wrong - and I quite appreciate that there maybe additional costs - but I would want to do it properly and get it right first time.
Thanks!

1.jpg 2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
J

JJS1410

Not fully sure what you mean by a sealed wall? Without tanking any substrate would end up soaking up the moisture (assuming enough water ends up on the tiles), its how the substrate handles it that differentiates them.
So I personally tank the substrate to ensure longevity of the job, and to minimise/eradicate the impact of the water penetrating the tiles and grout.
In your pics it is not clear what is between the bath and plaster, is it just a patch plaster? If you think this surface is not smooth enough or isn't keyed into the plaster above then I'd remove it and re plaster it then tank.

H

Herbie