Discuss Shower - Tiling on Tanked Plywood in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Hi. I am a complete amateur about to retile my shower that that is backed by marine ply. I realise that ply is not favoured here but the shower is 20 years old and the ply still looks fine after that time – it does not appear to have moved or degraded at all. Nevertheless, I thought I would take the precaution of tanking it (I propose using the Dunlop kit).
What I would like advice on is, which tile adhesive and grout would members recommend that I use on the tanked ply surface where I am fitting 25cms X 25cms X 5mms ceramic tiles?
Any other tips would be welcome.
Many thanks

Thanks both for your replies.

I will see if I can post pictures later. As far as the hardibacker is concerned an additional 6mm or so may take the external face of the shower enclosure over the edge of the shower tray.

Whichever approach I adopt, I would appreciate thoughts on the most suitable adhesive and grout to use.

Many thanks

(Apologies if this duplicates an earlier response from me - my last two attempts to post a response appear to have vanished into the ether!)

G

garretridge

i know i shouldnt but i done a job last week new build property 2 walls were solid and 2 were ply he didnt even want to tank but i insisted so i tanked and i tiled them with300x300 polished porcelain. i didnt want to turn work away so i did it some times we have to even if we dont agree but this developer gives me regular work so i bit the bullet this time but told him in future to use no more ply or backer boards for all the difference in costs and he wont get any come backs so he agreed so a result for us tilers in the end!:thumbsup:

Y

YourTiler