Currently reading:
Sub Mains to a Load Centre in a Domestic Dwelling Electrical Advice

While we have you, why don't you checkout our Plumbing Advice forum PlumbersForums.net

Discuss Sub Mains to a Load Centre in a Domestic Dwelling Electrical Advice in the Electrical Advice area at TilersForums.com.

Sub Mains to a Load Centre in a Domestic Dwelling Discussion ThreadSub Mains to a Load Centre in a Domestic Dwelling Electrical Advice

I am a retired electrician doing a home rewire.

I'm taking my time because I fell about 3m off a ladder & put both bones through the inside of my right leg.
That has slowed things down a lot...

My understanding of the AS:3000 regs is that all circuits in a domestic residence must be RCD protected.

When we moved here I replaced the tiny & cramped outside switchboard with a bigger one.
Later I fitted a loadcentre in the kitchen so I didn't have to go out in the cold & wet to troubleshoot.

I am totally upgrading the kitchen loadcentre.
It is a 36 pole, 3x 12 with all Clipsal Max9 internals.
Although a major clean up has rendered it unnecessary, I was a hoarder so I went for the Arc Protect breakers for extra protection due to the extra fuel load in the building at the time.

My question is regarding the sub-mains into the loadcentre.
The way I read the regs is that it has to be 30mA protected or protected by an earthed enclosure inside of walls.

Being a submains, it cannot be 30mA protected if the final circuits are also 30mA protected.
That would make the section up inside the wall from the switchboard to the ceiling & down inside the wall from the ceiling to the loadcentre needing to be in an earthed enclosure.
Steel pipe or conduit would be a pain to fit.

I found a supplier that sold small lengths of Anaconda Flex Metal Conduit with plastic outer sheathing so I picked up some.
This has a spiral wound galvanised iron central section with plastic outer sheathing.