UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Tanking-Desirable rather than essential? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

A1P

Hi All,I am a plumber / tiler and I get mainly bathrooms to do.I am more comfortable with the plumbing than the tiling.I am trying to widen my knowledge via the forum.Many of my customers are at the 'budget' end of the market so it is mainly ceramic tiles on a wide variety of walls and floors.As with plumbing none of the tiling is ever straightforward!!I get a lot of attempts to lower my quotes and most customers are a bit cost obsessed.Tanking seems hard to sell to them.How much,do I need it etc?I know there are thousands of bathrooms pre-tanking still going strong after 10+ years.Some were even PVA'd.Dont start that again!!! I saw a post that said Aquapanel was guaranteed by manufacturer and did not need priming.Another post by Wet Decs saying that painted tanking wasnt guaranteed unless it matched exactly the depth required.Impossible for tiler to measure so possible get out.Primed plaster boards have also been passed as suitable.Many posts favour membranes.I just want to do a good job so would welcome your opinions.I gather the issue is that no grouts are waterproof as claimed-just water resistant.Rob

H

Harry Grout

obviosly i know both wet and membrain systems that we are all adopting now, funny enough i'v been using both systems for years in the plastering ind ( damp proofing ) so i have no probs with the systems, just the ripp off prices of the materials really :thumbsup: that you have to justify to your customers

Gooner59 (username :thumbsup:) COYG's have my first wet rooms to do soon but its in a ground floor - concrete floors and solid walls,I'll be sticking mosaic tiles in the shower area - should I tank it? and what with ?

A

A1P