Discuss taste in tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

H

hillhead

We just have to smile and say "they're lovely".
I remember once around 5 years ago, big house(millionaires) and the kitchen floor tiles arrived !!! yuk ! i rang the woman of the house and asked her to come to it.
When she came i asked her if this was what she picked? Do you think they are bad Joe? yes i said.lol.
What a mix of shades,got tile shop man out and had nice row but new tiles within 3 hours which looked great.lol.

T

Time's Ran Out

Taste -
We did a barn conversion a couple of years ago and the client had bought 30x30cm tiles that were in royal blue and to look like a mosaic on a tile.
I laid a few out on the site cabin floor and asked if they were the right tiles and that as a professional I couldn't make them look like a good job! He replied that he had them on his present house and that's what he thought he wanted again.
I took them back to the distributors and put a nice marble down instead.
It was either that or he could get someone else to fix them.

P

Peter

There are times when you think to yourself, "how can this person actually think this will look good?".

Was doing a job for a young couple, wealthy father who had given them the house and they were spending megabucks from the high end places that you love to hear of a job coming up from. 20k bathroom and 40k kitchen later, the house had absolutely zero taste. The girl had a couple of different sample tiles, the builder kept trying to persuade her to go with other samples but she wasn't having any of it.

The icing on the cake was two of those circular towel rails that look like they're for putting newspapers and magazines in.

P

Pebbs