Discuss Tiling On Plasterboard In A Bathroom in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

D

Dylan M

Hey guys. This is my first time so if I'm in the wrong forum section. Sorry in advance.

Well this is my problem. My mum has gotten a person to do teh tiling and stuff in our bathroom. He recently put plasterboard onto the wall side where the bath will be put. He started to tile on it with the adhesive so far. I was just wondering is this the correct way to do it? 'Cause I was researching it and people are saying that if the tiles are going straight onto adhesive then onto the plasterboard, the plasterboard may rot if water get's in? I'm worried that we should have skimmed this before?

If there is any help or ideas, or if you want me to make it any simpler and explain it in further detail I will try to to this for you.

Thank's in advance.

D

Dylan M

it's a waterproofing barrier Dylan, it can come in the form of a membrane that you stick on with cement based tile adhesive, or it comes in a tub that you paint on with a roller/brush. It's not a legal requirement in the uk, but more and more tilers are doing this now.

Is it a good thing to use, and if we dont use it, will tehre be any hassel in the future?

M

marke

welcome mate :oops:PVA a definite no-no for me mate should be using a proper primer on the plasterboard , you can read loads on these forums about why not PVA mate have a look , and again as above i think tanking should always be used nowadays we have all pulled out enough bathrooms to prove its needed , so dont panic but i would be asking a few questions of the tiler personally

D

doug boardley

PVA is very old school and should be banned from tiling, are you sure it's PVA and not a diluted SBR or acrylic primer? they all look very similar!