Discuss Travertine Floors in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

S

sjmarsh74

Hi there

first post and after some advice.

We've just had an extension built and the downstairs area is 50m2 which I will be tiling with travertine. I used to refit bathrooms for a living and also tiled a kitchen floor of about 20m2 in travertine.

The floor has underfloor heating and I will be tiling onto a concrete screed. The wife wants it in a brickwork pattern - yes I know not the easiest but she gets what she wants!!!

Just after some do's or don't when tiling such a large area. I was planning on starting at the door into the kitchen in order to get the correct level to the existing house and then going from there.

It will take me a few weeks to tile the area as I will be doing it at the weekends and around work.

Basically any advice that you can give me would be great!

Cheers

Simon

gamma38

TF
Bedford
Hi, to be honest there are so many things to consider and not really enough time to type an answer long enough to advise you on the job start to finish, have you not thought about getting a tiler in to do it for you, it may cost you less in the long run and you will end up with a top job.

S

sjmarsh74

Hi, to be honest there are so many things to consider and not really enough time to type an answer long enough to advise you on the job start to finish, have you not thought about getting a tiler in to do it for you, it may cost you less in the long run and you will end up with a top job.

Money has run out of the budget otherwise may have paid someone to do it. What kind of money am I looking at if I did get someone in? It would be just to lay the floor as I'd supply materials etc

gamma38

TF
Bedford