Discuss trowels for porcelain wall & floor tiles..confused & worn out in the Best Floor Tiles area at TilersForums.com.

D

dunner

Hi all ,
As a beginner i have being trying to learn about correct trowels , but so much info & so many choices , i give up & have to ask specific questions.hope someone can help..I am buying 490x490 polished porcelain tiles for ensuite walls & floor (tiling around shower walls also) + some 300x300 mosaic tiles for decorative strip in shower .
I am using ditra for floors & kerdi for shower walls.Which type trowels should i use for each application .Schluter have given trowel info about adhering their product to substrate but i cannot choose trowels for the tiling , the more i read the more choices there seems to be .Also I have been given a couple of second hand trowels but dont know how to measure what size they are ? Is their any online handbook out there to match trowel shape & depth, to size of tile & type of substrate ?? any help at all please . thanks

2020Tiling

hi m8! i no its a daft question but wen u or anyone else for that matter say skim the back of the tile , do you mean lightly skim the back of the tile like 2mm worth of addy ? or serrate the back with the trowel as you would also do with the floor/wall ? sorry if iam sounding rediculous . also while on the subject of rediculous questions ! (flat bed trowels) ? iam i right in thinking this is the square noched ones ? not half circle ones if you no wot i mean ! :lol:

This thread hasn't been replied to for 14 days, so replying to this one may not get a response. Post a new thread instead.

Reply to trowels for porcelain wall & floor tiles..confused & worn out in the Best Floor Tiles area at TilersForums.com

There are similar tiling threads here

Hi all, My 1st post and just wanting some help/reassurance on a DIY bathroom refurb. I’m...
Replies
Views
Hi, first time posting. I’m in the middle of tiling my own bathroom, first time having a go at...
Replies
Views