UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss wet under floor heating??? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Hi all

Currently talking to a customer through emails regarding a bathroom he wants tiling, he's been asking me questions regarding best prep for travertine etc.

He has told me he has installed wet ufh which i have no experience of. Here is what he's writen in regard to floor:
We have had some different views on how to treat the floor of the bathroom ready for tiling and would appreciate your views so we have prepared the floor appropriately.

We have the studwork of one wall done now and we have put in the wet underfloor heating as follows
75mm of Kingspan insulation supported on 2” x 2” battens on the sides of the joists
50mm of 3:1 cement screed around the heating pipes giving a finished surface level with the top of the joists
It is very solid but the cement screed is likely to expand and contract at a different rate to the timber joists so we are told the concrete may expand and rise up relative to the joists.

My thoughts are to lay a 12mm ply sheet over the floor There will need to be a join as the area is too big for a single sheet. My thoughts are to but the 2 pieces together over a joist and screw those mating edges down but leave the others free to move with any expansion or contraction. What are your thoughts?

Can anyone explain to me how this kind of floor works, i just dont get where the joists come into it. I just thought wet floors were just for concrete floors. I am pretty sure the plywood idea is a no no! but what is the best way? I am going to look at it soon but want some advice on this type of floor before i do.

Really appreciate responses :smilewinkgrin:

Ajax123

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Lincolnshire