Discuss wetroom waterproofing your experience required in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

pippa

hi newbie here so firstly i would just like to say hello and thanks for any advice really helpfull forum
i have built a wetroom 1.5mx2.5m glass screen is to be fitted approx 1.2m from wall (shower area 1.2mx1.5m) concrete floor sloping screed to central (in shower area ) floor drain .I propose to use tilesafe on the floor i know a few people dont like it but as far as i am aware its the only one with a lifetime warranty and riw do make excellent products.should i cover the whole floor with tilesafe or allowing for an overspill area just the shower area?
i have constructed the walls with knaff aquapanel all the way round i propose to use a fleece i am aware of dura-wp,homelux and wickes actually sell one which on another site somebody suggested looks like dura-wp make it question which one would you guys use? (nb i am going to seal the joints on the aqua panel using a cement based flexible adhesive, which adhesive should i use ? ) problem i have information overload . i have found conflicting information by reading various forums ie no need for fleece with aqua panel etc etc .as this is my own house time is not important i just dont want to have to return in a few years sorting out leaks i want to do as good a job as i can so thats where i need your experience am i doing it right probably over the top your advice please thanks again (nb no underfloor heating )

W

White Room

You can seal the aqua joints with a plasterers scrim and use a single part flexible adhesive to wipe over the tape, don't leave it to proud though..

Cement board does the job but is'nt waterproof, it just won't get damaged with water ingress..if 1 person is using the shower then the tanking may not be needed but if the whole family are using it 5 times a day then a tanking would be advised.