Guest viewing is limited

Discuss What was your views on being self employed before you did it ? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

john0612

i've been a painter n dec for 14yr with the same company since i left school ( hears the clogs working out my age :lol: ) been S/E for 5yrs, basically bought out the company i used to work for along with a collegue as my old boss retired.

My initial thought was wealth lol, ( well you would woudn't you ) but it coun't be further from the truth.

So much more worry money wise.

cash flow is a real worry as you never when your getting paid, and if your working as a subby, well expect to wait anything between 30-60 days for yor dosh.

Tax wise i use the vouchers when i subby out so i get taxed 20% from the company and they send it off to the tax man so if you do a lot of subby'n you can have a nice wedge sitting at the tax mans office awaiting yor tax return, i generally have a couple of K overpaid so it's nice to get a rebate, but you get less "up front" money.

VAT , now that is the bane of my life, i think the thresh hold has went up to 68k turnover before you need to pay it. but i normally pay between 2-3k per 1/4 and that just kills us. We have a high turnover because we do a lot of non slip epoxy resin floors, which is bloody dear.

i have a book keeper who charges £27 per week for doing all my books so i don't even have to do anything.

accountant is £600 per year ( £300 per partner) and he keeps everything in tip top condition and only hear from him at the end of the financial year.

i know tiling is not my forte (yet) but if i can help anyone with anything business wise i'm more than willing to offer what i know.