UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss where do old tilers go to ? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

MARBLE_TONY

I knew a builder when I was a apprentice that was still doing all the graft at 79. Everything from lugging bricks up ladders to doing the work himself along with his partner of 50 years who was 75 great builders to. But turned up one day and there was the ambulance trying to revive the 79 year old couple of days later the second guy came back finished the job told the client you are my last customer and retired.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Gloucester
i know a couple of tilers in there late fifties, one of them has been tiling all his working life and never worn a knee pad and never had any knee problems, makes me cringe whatching him crawl round the floor..

ive been giving quite a lot of thought as to what i would do if my tiling career came to a sudden end, my knees seem to be getting worse each year, plus works been so up and down this year, but when youv'e done the same job all your working life having to pack it in and do something eles sends a shiver down my spine, couldn't hack working in a factory, or office ,or a tile shop, may be repping but im to honest, if a product was crap i just couldn't sell it...lol, think i will proberly end up going as long as i can, maybe just slowing down as the kids get older and stop bleeding me dry..

S

Spud