UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Whip clips or lash,lol in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

bugs183

I've been tiling for over twenty years, and i'm not too bad at it, but i can't recommend lash clips enough.
If you've ever laid a polished porcelain floor in a room with lots of glass etc then you will get lots of reflections, any difference in the tiles will result in these reflections stepping out of line (does this make sense?0. If you use lash clips these really pull the tiles together and make the reflections perfect. Large format tiles also benefit from lash clips as they bolt the tiles in place, especially on walls.
Its not a cheap system and i don't believe it makes the job quicker as advertised as you have to remove all the clips after drying and then clean up the joints more than usual.
People can scoff and say DIY, but these do give the job that extra bit of help.
And the yellow wedges are really handy on other jobs too.

R

Rizzle from the Portizzle

if you are a realy good fixer you wont need these just an on going story of the shops squeezing every last penny out of the tilers on prouducts that are not needed sold by people who have not fixed a tile in there lives i have stood in more tile shops than i can recall while the staff give bad advice . if you use these i think you will start to lose your skill of the touch.these are probably good for new tilers and for the sales staff.

B

bugs183

I totally agree with your point Ray, but i am a good fixer, and i still think they have their place,but only on exceptional jobs.