Discuss Absolute novice to tiling is attempting shower room, where to start ?? in the Best Bathroom Tiles area at TilersForums.com.

W

Warleyboy71

Hi all,

Having my first attempt at tiling the shower room.
As you can see from the pics, ive boarded it throughout and a mate has skimmed it for me.
Got my level for first tiles and have battoned out.
But where do i start, ive checked lots of sites and watched loadsa videos, with lots of different opinions.
As my shower going in corner, do i put full tiles from right and work left or find centre of wall and have small cuts either side.
How do i work around the rest of the walls making it look easy on the eye.All of shower enclosure to be tiled with rest of room going 5 tiles up to just where paint begins
Any advice would be really appreciated.
. IMG_4487.jpg IMG_4486.jpg IMG_4488.jpg IMG_4485.jpg

W

White Room

Was told to get tiles on wall, and fit tray afterwards.
Got him to skim cement board cos plasterboard had bee skimmed and wanted a level finish.
painted the whole room once it was plastered with a cheap white emulsion, I have also applied adhesive ready for tiling

How long are you leaving the adhesive before tiling...is it powdered or tubbed gear.

Upvote 0
S

Stef

Yep, very fine skim, plasterer done it before..
guys any input on where to start placing tiles, I would just like to know where would be an ideal starting point, and how to tile to make it look gooood. Cheers

I would start placing tiles on your kitchen walls or floor as that shower room ain't fit to accept any tiles yet.
Start again & spend a little money just now on prep or its going to cost a lot more if you start fixing tiles.

Upvote 0
W

Warleyboy71

Ok, what are you all goin on about.
All I've done is paint the plastered walls with emulsion.
Ive added an acrylic bonding agent for tiling area.
why on earth are the tiles going to come off.
i have tubbed adhesive for tiles.