Discuss advice on sea fishing please in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

mikethetile

were off to pendine beach in pembrokeshire, south wales in a couple of weeks

the whole family is going:yikes: im going to need some me time

ive been looking at beachcasters but im a complete novice and need advice

I dont want to spend a lot as I may decide itss not for me, ive looked at the kits and im dubious about the quality and what you get, so ive been looking at second hand kit as ill get more for my money plus I could always stick the gear on ebay if I decide its not for me

so my questions

ive realised you need different gear for different fish, so what am I fishing for off the beach

whats the minimum gear I need to take

the kits are 2m poles with 10m of line , surely this is not enough for fishing off a beach

what lures will I need

I can buy rigs, but I have sent off for a book that shows how to make and adjust them

I realise this is a how long is a bit of string question but any advice or thoughts for a complete novice will be appreciated

mike

ps I want to catch edible fish:drool5:

I don't think a 6m rod is going to hack it off a beach lol, sounds more like a boat rod to me, is there a peir you can fish off ? If you are going off the beach then I would have thought a rod of about 4 - 5 m would be better, you'll need to cast out a fair ways and the leads you'll be using can weigh on a bit, as for bait, rag-worm is the one that springs to mind, of course, if you have rocks you could fish off then you could go lighter tackle and fish like you would do on a river, you could float fish for Mullet, if there are any there, mackerel on a spinner etc.

EDIT forget what I said about the 6 m rod, too early, I thought it was 6 foot lol, as for 10m line, waaaaaaaaaaay more needed, a few hundred meters :)

Last edited:
O

Olz

A 6ft rods not big enough for beachcasting, you need a 12 - 13ft.