Discuss Advice on travertine floor in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

teo

Hello all.
I need some advice on laying my kitchen and dining room floor.
Since i got some good prices for travertine tiles (600*450) and underfloor heating(ufh)
i was wondering if i could do it myself;i am not a tiler expert as my trade is dry lining, but i have done quite a lot of ceramic tiling as well.
The area is around 50 smq, the substrate is wooden floorboards (with extra noggings to make it stronger).
I was thinking of, instead of taking boards up to lay a 6mm backerboard, lay underfloor heating onto the boards, then self leveling compound, then travertine tiles(sealed before laying and after grouting).
What i am not sure is how much screed is needed for covering the underfloor heating (is it enough if i just cover it few mm above?) and if i need an uncoupling membrane (like ditra) on top of the screed.
Also do i need expansion joints?( never done a big area before)
Was hoping to do it myself since i enjoy tiling.
Thanks in advance for any help.

T

teo

Thanks for quick reply!
They are planks, i think 18mm thick.
Floor seems quite stable already, so i thought i could save on ripping it up
So its best practice to replace it with ply?
i have always replaced boards with ply when doing the bit of tiling i have done, wasnt sure about this one.
i will see if i have extra money to replace with ply, screwed down as usual.
so the sequence is 18mm ply, 6mm cement board,underfloor heating, self level latex screed slightly above heating,ditra mat, then tiles (i was thinking about 3mm or 4 grout lines with mapei ultracolor plus).
seems quite a lot of work :p
gosh its a lot of work :p

T

teo

thanks for info.
about the expansion joint, since i was thinking about a brick effect does that means i have to do a "not straight" joint or just cut the tiles at the doorway? ( i guess the joint is done with colour matching silicon instead of grout).