Discuss Altro flooring, disabled shower room in the Best Bathroom Tiles area at TilersForums.com.

T

tilerfil

Love the forum, haven't needed to sign up until now, so much great info on here but cant seem to find info on this anywhere.

Have 7 disabled shower rooms to tile in the shower area only that are having Altro flooring. Currently all shower trays are fitted flush with t&g chipboard in all bathrooms.

I have never worked with Altro before but understand the Altro will go straight over the tray and chipboard and up the walls to form a water tight floor and skirting, however I am unsure how far the Altro will come up the walls and where to start tiling. Looked on their website but cant seem to find this info.

Anybody know the height from the floor to where I should start to tile from?

Any help would be much much appreciated.

Thanks Fil

D

div

sorry mate compter crashed there.
as for tiling set out as u would normally
put ur trim tile/altro on with the contact adeshive i also pin it to
i find using a curved stanley blade best for saftey flooring
put some dry slc round grate 2 stop it running down it
when cutting altro to fit under trim use ur spirit level i use 600mm an pencil mark it then cut. dont try a cutting full wall at one time 9/10 u run off...

i use a piece of 12 or 18mm ply with a bit of carpet wrapped half round it to smooth flooring when laying ..
any more i can help i.e welds give us a shout
best of:smilewinkgrin:

Upvote 0
D

div

can b a little daunting laying ur first time mate but will try an give u a run down....
slc floor
apply cove formers around base of room this comes in rubber lenghts it has 2 ribs on the back.. one for the floor other for wall
u double stick this on...(contact adeshive on both former and wall)...
leave 2 go tacky then apply round room..about 10-15min..
this is were i come up 100mm and ur finished tile height will b about 100mm-130mm..as dave said no more than 150mm..