Discuss are you thinking about training? in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

R

rich83

just a heads up to any one wanting to get a tiling qualification. first off i have a c&g diploma. i cant work on site with this but it is essential part of nvq(except ewpa route).you dont need nvq for work off site ,you dont even need c&g ,but thats by the by.
when i was looking into tiling after years of poorly paid temp work.i found courses stating nvq/c&g.let me tell you,you cant get nvq in few weeks,unless you can prove youve been tiler for years.and as far as im aware c&g they offer is not the full award.and the price ,travel,and accomadation,is eye watering.i decided to do college.and to my horror ,it was free.(i was 26).i say horror because id stayed in rubbish jobs for ages under the illusion, i couldnt afford training,as well as the lengthy 2 years putting me off.it was free because, youre entitled to study for a level 2,if you havnt already done so!!! i had to do two year course as it was only one near me,and even then it was two and half hour round trip.you may be lucky and be near college,and some even offer one year option(i think nottingham and newcastle ,do them,some do anyway)...i hope,someone finds this useful.and my apologies for the grammar. oh and im sure their are reputable training providers out there ,im just saying it was not viable for me.as i stated you dont need to be qualified,anyway.

M

Mr T

Nice bit of info there mate thanks... Im already under the impression that the best way to learn is through college and the qualifications you gain will be the real thing so will be looking into a course soon but just doing what I can until I can go to an open day in august... Best thing would be to ge on some sort of apprentiship while also going to college but thats A perfect world lol

R

rich83