Discuss Bathroom advice, Aquaboard Adhesive? in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

J

jubba

Hi guys,
I am a bit of a novice but did a good job on my kitchen floor and wall tiling with some great advice from this forum. :thumbsup:

Just doing my bathroom now so figured this was the place to come.

Just erected a new stud wall and got some aqua-panels from wickes today, which I am going to fit around the shower bath area.

What i need advice on is a good adhesive to use?
This will be used to seal the joints and fix the jointing tape on the aquaboard.
Going to fit ceramic tiles 250 x 400.
I would prefer to use ready mixed adhesive as it will make the job alot easier for me.
Screwfix do : Bal Bluestar?, unibond?, mapegrip d2?, all suitable for showers?

Also the wickes guide recommends fitting the tape to the aquaboards "immediately before tiling" but surley i could do this in advance as long as I just put a thin coat of adhesive on?

You advice appreciated :smilewinkgrin:

Thanks

Lee

S

Scott

A good fleixible powderd adhesive is the way to go. ITs a bit of a waste doing all the correct prep to then use the wrong adhesive. I appreciate they say its ok for showers but you soak some of the dried adhesive in water and it softens. You can get a slower setting cement adhesive, its not all rapid set.

Have you got the tape for the joints? I just use normal scrim tape and skim over the joint with tile adhesive

J

jubba

Thanks for the advice guys,

Just prefered ready mixed as I will be doing the tiling in small stints, so easy to just do a small area then pop the lid back on the tub!

If powdered addy means a proper job then I'll use that, any advice on what to use / where from? Something that has a longer bucket life and dosent go off too quick would be good as I'm not the fastest tiler in the world. :)

Have you got the tape for the joints? I just use normal scrim tape and skim over the joint with tile adhesive