Discuss Best price for channel/linear drain cover in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

Tunni

It is for internal domestic shower use. I've made a bespoke GRP linear channel drain from a mould I knocked up (dead easy as I'm a carpenter with 30+ years experience and it's inexpensive)

Now I just need the stainless steel cover grating/grill and as previously mentioned did find a supplier online but lost the bloody website address!

So if anyone can supply just this it would be 'grate'!

Regards
Tunni

D

Deleted member 1779

I know what you need because we did it ourselves.

Home made shower floor / wet room with tiles instead of a white shower tray.

packphoto4.jpg

We did the same as you and machined a drop frame out of timber. And then tiled to centre.

M

martinwinlow

Hi - I've been looking at channel drains for the 3 x 900mm wide showers I'm about to install in my selfbuild (www.winlow.co.uk if you ever get really bored) but am horrified at the loony prices that ACO and others are charging - over £250 each!! So I had a look on eBay and found these ... Broken Link Removed ... and they do a range of sizes and asked for a quote for 3 inc vat & delivery which came at 600 euros. Not bad but it's still a lot. Now if I could make 'em myself...! I would have thought any stainless steel fabricator would be able to do a simple bit of flat stainless about 3 or 4 mm thick riddled with holes and polished up for £50 or so or you could drill them yourself and save some more.

On the subject of GRP, why isn't it used for lining shower floors? It's very easy to use, infinitely adaptable, sticks to most things very well, is very tough and would take tiles well, too. Ideal really.

Tunni - if you've got any pics of your diy effort I'd be interested to see them - maybe for a fee you'd do me mine?! MW

Last edited by a moderator:
T

Tunni