Discuss cold callers, attention to detail in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

doug boardley

just received a cold caller (even tho' we're on TPS) "hello, is that Mr Douglas Broadley?",,,,
"No" says I, "I'm Mr Douglas Boardley" (not Broadley)
"Ah sorry sir , but are you interested..."
"Whoooooa" says I, " My surname has eight letters in it, and you have got it wrong. I'm a professional tiler and if I tiled your bathroom with 800 tiles and I got 100 of them wrong I think you would doubt my professionalism and attention to detail, as I am doubting yours. Goodnight and Merry Xmas!"
He then tries to apologise by again calling me Mr Douglas Broadley:mad2::mad2:...at this point I hung up:thumbsup: I wonder tho' what he was selling:lol:

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
I get them trying to get information off me so that I can go on a database as I am on none. :lol:

Call goes a bit like this:-

Hi, is that Mr Campbell (or some other made up name)?
No.
Sorry, what's your name then?
Not Mr Campbell, have you got the wrong number?
I'm not sure what's your number?
You've just called it.
Right of course sir, sorry we're don't see the numbers we're calling here?
Oh, right, but you see names? Strange.
Yes, typical company computer systems, so, what's your name then?
Sorry, am I missing something, I think you have the wrong number there's no Mr Campbell here
Is there a Mrs Campbell then?
No
Right well I'm calling from the 'International Database Records Systems for yada yada yada' and we're just updating your information with us, may I take your name?
No, sorry, and I'd say your database does need updating somewhat as no Mr Campbell has ever lived here
Right, and do you have any credit cards?
- Then I hang up.

And to be fair to them I'd get them off the phone quicker but we're both quite quick with our responses as they know full well what you're going to say and ask for your real name quickly to try and get you to say it without thinking.