Discuss Crumbling Travertine Tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

B

bewildered bub

Hi, I'm new to this, but really keen to know if anyone has purchased honed and filled travertine tiles from Tile Clearing House/Topps Tiles, as they are, I am tole, the same company??! What I need to know is, has anyone experienced tile breakage/crumbling of these tiles? Only my fitter, a lovely man called 'Shauney' has experienced awful problems with breakages whilst not only cutting these tiles but hadling them? I have moaned to the staff of Tile Clearing House (which is where I bought them from) but they maintained they have never heard the like and were almost trying to pile the blame on poor Shauney, whilst taking even more money from me to replace the breakages! Could it be that Tile Clearing House sell sub-standard travertine (it is, however, cheaper than Topps Tiles) ? Someone out there must know? Bewildered Bub.

Last edited by a moderator:
B

bewildered bub

Hi Rich,
As I just told Bri, the backs of some of these tiles look like honeycomb, and the fronts are heavily filled. My tiler has been using a wet motorised cutting machine, but has had breakages by just handling them, when they dont just break, they crumble into loads of pieces! I The tile shop gave me three free replacements last week, but they continue to crumble and now they say they have never heard of this happening. I 've got a pile of broken tiles outside my front door. I wonder if the quality of the tiles from Topps Tiles are better, at aboiut £1.5o/£2 more? Thanks Rich. Bub.

T

The Legend; Phil Hobson RIP

As above, not the best but once they have been back skimmed and solid bed fixed, they should be OK. Problem is getting them out of the crate and cutting them without them falling apart.