UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Didn't use flexi additive over UFH in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

F

Fizzer

Hi All,
I'm a bit worried about my recently tiled kitchen/diner.
Having re-read the mixing instructions for the adhesive I've noticed that I should have used a flexi additive instead of water to mix it - I feel like a bit of an idiot, such a rookie mistake!

The floor goes like this:

old concrete subfloor (no cracking)
10mm wedi board (bonded to subfloor)
UFH mat (elec)
~6mm self levelling (wickes high performance - applied in two coats several days apart)
left to dry for a few days and tested ufh for 45 mins to check it works - it's been off since
a few days later I started laying tiles, took ages as its my first time and I have a full time job too!
I've left 5-10mm round the edge to allow for expansion
6mm notched float, adhesive on floor tiles on that. Tiles are approx 60x30cm and have a 3mm gap

Not grouted yet... (got some bal flexible wide joint grout)

Can someone put my mind at rest, am I going to be resticking these things down for ever and a day? Should I just carry on and grout?

I'm guessing it would be a good idea to leave the UFH off for a couple of weeks after grouting.

F

Fizzer

OK, I can see the funny side... :) you guys must get a lot of DIY'ers with sob stories in here - I'm sure I'm not the first...

I've been battling with my old house for long enough to know that most things can be fixed or lived with in the end.

I replied yesterday but I guess it didn't make it through the mods.

I used 3 bags of UniBond Rapid Set Ceramic Floor Tile Adhesive 518136 Grey 20kg/Up to 8m² from B&Q

I suppose the risk is that the bond may break and the tiles come loose?