Discuss Dilemma in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

russ1980

Hi
I've just started tiling on a part-time basis for friends and family and also a few recommends.I've done a few kitchens and bathrooms in my own houses.Alot of people comment on how neat it looks although my last bathroom and my biggest to date 20m took me 5days so not the quickest tiler.As i'm new to tiling my prices reflect this and i think there reasonable.The reason i'm posting is that i've had some interest from a local kitchen and bathroom fitter who so i'm told does alot of decent work for customers.He's asked me to do some regular tiling for him and he knows i'm not that experienced but says the quality of my work is better than the last tiler who worked for him(10yrs experience).My problem is he just expects me to tile on what ever surface he come across.he patches up the odd hole with some bonding but if the walls are'nt level he does'nt want to spend money leveling them.He tells me people don't want to pay to have their walls skimmed then tiled over or whatever prep work is necessary.The reason he got rid of his last tiler of 10yrs is because he was cutting corners all the time and was always getting called back because tiles were cracking up or the grout was falling out.I'm not sure what to do am i just being fussy about the surfaces i'm willing to tile.The work will be regular he's already guranteed me work until the end of october.Other tradesmen who have worked for him told me he's good at his job and has always got work mainly through recommends.What would other members do?

R

Rich