Discuss Get Back Into Tiling ? in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Although I've been a member for a little while I have just started reading through different posts on various topics.

I just really wanted to say what a brilliant forum this is. I'm impressed that so many tilers take the time to go into so much detail about everything. You can learn a lot just reading through what members have put on here.

I worked as a trainee tiler 11 years ago and did it for three years. Then left to go into a different business for better money! After 3 years tiling I still didn't feel anywhere close to being a pro tiler like the men I had learned from but have always kept my tools and done jobs for friends and family over the years. I am now at the age of 27 seriously considering getting back into it. I mainly worked on building sites for the likes of Persimmon Homes, Miller etc. I'm thinking of going to work with a tiler for free when I get the chance like weekends etc as I need to build up my confidence and still feel nervous setting out tricky floors and certain other things. I would do this for about a year or until I feel ready. Then I'd leave my job, buy everything that I need. Get a part time job on the weekend for maybe 16 hours a week to tide me over and literally put everything into making it work. I know it will be a hard journey I have read the posts from new tilers on here and heard the stories. But with time and patience I'm confident I could do it. I want to ask the self employed tilers on here. In your opinion is it worth the sacrifice ? How long did it take you to get enough work to earn enough ? How many of you work weekends ? Do you make enough during busy spells to cover the quiet periods ? Do you feel good working for yourself and leaving people happy ? What is the best way to get work ? How many hours do you put in on average ?