UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss glazed porcelain in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

adam87

Hi

i am still relatively new to both tiling and this forum

i recently undertook a 2 week tiling course to try my hand at tiling. I learned a vast amount of knowledge in a short space of time but as you can imagine i am a very very long way from the finished article ha-ha

i am planning on spending 6 months or so helping out friends and family with tiling jobs to practice and improve on my skills

i completed my first job last week, tiling a 15m2 kitchen floor/hallway and must say i was very pleased with the outcome

i have another small job on this week and was looking for a bit of advice in relation to my prep work/ materials

im tiling a bathroom floor and a toilet room floor, both approx 2m2 each

the customer has chosen glazed porcelain tiles 330x330x7, black for one room and cream for the other

first question...... if i use grey adhesive and grout on both rooms wil this look good? or can anyone advise me of an alternative option?

i will be laying ply to tile on and i was thinking of using mapei keraflex adhesive . if i do so will i need to add any primer to the ply before ? or can anyone recommend a better suited adhesive for the job ?

and finally............. any recommendations on grout for glazed porcelain ?

any advice will be greatly appreciated

many thanks

O

On one

Hi, ply is fine - I personally screw down every 4" to ensure a good hold.

Then prime with Bal primer, and you can use the 2 part rubber stuff, in grey available at Topps tiles.
Colour of grout upto customer really, I'm not really a fan of grey grout in Bathrooms, lighter colours look best, but you must use a flexible one.

Hope this is of some help matey