Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Grouting tumbled mosaic border tiles. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

J

jimh20

Hi,

This is my first post. I'm not a Pro, but I've successfully tiled before.

This time, for the bathroom, my wife has chosen a scheme with an lower and upper border of 25mm tumbled marble mosaics (9x9 in a 292x292 mesh). The mosaics are peppered with little holes, which is partly why she likes them.

How can I grout them neatly, without filling the holes with grout? This is a first for me. I saw that Evostick have a grout cartridge which looked ideal, 'till I read six consecutive reviews saying it was worse than useless!

Thanks, Jim

J

jimh20

Hi again,

The grouting problem is now solved. I'm going to grout over the mosaics. I've had a look at the mosaic sheets, and the holes/pits are minimal anyway.

Next question, if I may? How do you guys space the strips of mosaics?

Someone told me to lay the borders after the main tiles, so that the mosaics can be pressed down flush with the tiles above and below. I can't do that if I have spacers which are thicker than the tiles (i.e. if the spacers stick out).

Regards, Jim

W

White Room

Something like this, use tile off cuts to leave an opening for the mosaic
whitebeam-albums-shower-picture7432-how-space-mosaic-border.jpg

J

jimh20

Thanks, Whitebeam, especially for the picture.

That's a great solution for leaving the correct width for the border to go in.

Having done that, what's the best way to ensure the one inch square individual mosaics line up straight?

I'll be laying a lower, double border, and an upper single border, of 25x25mm mosaics in strips of nine, and I want them in a dead straight horizontal line.

Do I use normal spacers, for each of these little "tiles" on their mesh?

Regards, jim

E

enduro

You could use this to make the job easier for you.
The main benefits of using MOSAIC TILE MESH for tiling are as follows:-