Discuss Grouting in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

A

adugga

Hello everyone
I am a complete novice when it comes to tiling and was looking for some advice please. I am tiling my kitchen using stone mosaics which I have managed to fix, including nicely around all the sockets. My first attempt at grouting was a bit of a disaster in that I think I left too much grout on top which took me ages to remove and then I decided I didn't like the colour so hacked it all out. Fortunately the area was quite small but I don't want to make that mistake again.
I am now going with Mapei Anthracite, can I ask:
  • it recommends mixing all in one go to ensure consistent colour. I am a bit slow at grouting so if it starts to dry in my bucket can I add more water or would I be alright just to keep going, or should I mix in batches and hope it dries the same colour? I think I probably have approx 1m x 4m of 3cm mosaics to do.
  • when I mix, should I do it by hand or can I use a powered mixer, only I read to avoid bubbles
  • I did a small test of the grout so I could see what it would look like before I did the actual job, and when mixed the grout looked like it had grit in and was rough, is this the Mapei Anthracite or did I just not mix enough?
Many thanks for any advice.

R

Rich

Is this Mapei Ultracolor plus? I dont like using it on walls as I think it is a bit to course, I would use the Keracolor FF. You should mix the grout up as instructed on the back of the bag, Ultracolor is a rapid setting grout so this is another reason I think you would be better off with the FF. Mix the grout with an elecrtic mixer on a very low speed to avoid mixing air into it. Have a look through the link below, might give you a bit more info

Grouting...

A

adugga