UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Has this shower been tanked? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

M

marc the plumb

Hi,
Actiling -
I'm only a plumber in that i've completed a 2 yr city and guilds level 2 in plumbing and i'm now doing small jobs for friends and family to build up my knowledge and experience. During my college experience, for what ever reason, tanking wasn't covered.

Faithhealer -
So if the grout has been comprimised, it could need regrouting with water proof grout?
I believe some sort of tape is used, one half on the wall and the other sticking on the tray, is this not to stop water going down the side of the tray? Again, as I say above, I'm inexperienced with tanking so please forgive this question if it seems idiotic.
Thanks in advance

Marc

beanz

TF
Berkshire
I believe some sort of tape is used, one half on the wall and the other sticking on the tray, is this not to stop water going down the side of the tray?

The tape gives the indication that it has been tanked, but not necessarily fully. What do you mean exactly by "water going down the side of the tray"? I thought initially that the water was coming back in, at tray level; but now i'm thinking that the water is actually getting out? That sounds more like the tanking has failed for some reaon!?!

M

marc the plumb

Thanks for your reply Beanz

I believe the water from the shower head is hitting the tiled wall, trickling down, then seeping through where the tiles touch the tray and are siliconed. I can't actually see any tape when i've removed the silicone to re apply it which made me think it may not have been tanked at all.
I'm probably not explaining this too well am I? Apologies if not!!