UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Hello! Electrician seeking some tiling advice! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

richardlee

Hello.

I am an electrician seeking some tiling advise. I live in Deal in Kent and have recently bought a house. I am going to tile the bathroom, I stripped the old tiles off the wall which is old plaster, the house is 1930's, alot of plaster/render came off the wall below the bath height where I guess it has got damp over the years, so I have chopped it all off below this height but it is still on the wall above this and is nice and strong.

So at the moment, most of the walls are covered in old but strong render and plaster but where I have chopped the loose stuff off, I have bare brick. I am going to be fitting travertine tiles all over and wandered if you guys could recommend how best to prep the walls.
  1. I was thinking of using some sand and cement on the brick to render the surface level with the old plaster and then tile directly to this, would this be ok?
  2. There will be a pumped shower over the bath and was wandering if I should use cement board on this area or whether the original plastered surface will be ok for this.
The old rendering and plaster seems very strong and I'm confident it will hold the tiles, assuming that the surface is suitable.

Thanks for reading my first post!

Richard

R

richardlee

Cheers Dave.

As soon as I left work today I got on with removing the rest of the of the old render and stripped both walls back to the brick, filling up 8 rubble sacks in the process.

I have now got the two walls ready for dry lining, the two internal walls still have solid original render and plaster all over but I think that this hasnt suffered, possibly because they are internal.