UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Hello folks! And a Novellini question in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

Taylortwocities

Hi there chaps and chapesses,

I am about to embark on a small ensuite revamp which will involve installing a linear shower tray. My plan is to use a Novellini preformed tray with Tilesafe membrane. The walls of the room are rather not so good so I'm planning to support the existing and then over line the two walls that will be the shower corners with Wedi 10mm board.

I'll be doing that myself as I'm a pretty competent DIYer and an electrician by trade (don't mark me down for that!). I'll be getting a pro in to do the tiling.

Two questions for you:
1. I had heard from someone that Novellini isn't that well regarded and there may be problems with it - any opinions?
2. Any comments re use of Tilesafe with Wedi board

Thanks for your help!

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
Because that Flexi Fix thing is useless. It isn't going to create a water tight anything. Even in the picture on that website it is showing it being fixed to plaster. This means when the water soaks through to the plaster, and then runs down within the plaster (as we all know it does) it'll just go past the Flexi Fix and still damage the substrate and wouldn't have done a single thing to prevent anything.

A poor product even for DIYers.

You need to create a waterproof layer between the tiles and the substrate if the substrate is water sensitive as grout and adhesive is NOT water proof. It will allow water to pass through it still. So the flexi fix thing there will stop the bottom 2 inches of water getting to the back of the tile but not the other 7' above it.

T

Taylortwocities