Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Hello - Very New with a sob story :) in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

G

Graham Bright

Hi people. Hope you are all ok.

Thought I would come and introduce myself and explain why I am here. I know a lot of you are probably going to think I am mad.

I have been working in IT sales for a long time (15 years or more). I have spent a life working for IT firms and living by my sales results. I have been comuting in and and out of London for years. The job is high pressure and it has finally taken its toll on me. I no longer want to be part of the rat race. :hurray:

I have spent a lot of time on site in one way or another over the years, most of my family are in a trade of some sort. After serious consideration about what I want to do with my life I have decided I want to be a tiler.

Now I am in a bit of a difficult position because I have a family a house to run like everyone else. I cant just go and do an aprenticeship, or take days off for college etc I cant afford to take a massive drop in income, I just need to cover the bills.

So this is my plan. I am going to work with people evenings and weekends where ever possible. I already have a small group of plumbers and bathroom fitters that are going to help get me started and teach me.

I am going to do a qualification where I can do my course work from home and my onsite assesment stuff witht he people I work with.

I need to experience as many different senarios as possible and get as much experience as I can as quick as possible. I am willing to work for anyone for free on a Saturday or evening just to learn and get the knowledge. I can get the qualification in 9 months but as you all know it is the standard of work that is important and the speed.

Once I am up to scratch I will by the Van and the tools and off I go. I already have people that will give me work when I am up to a good enought level.