UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss help with 30 x 60 porcelain wall tiles in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

U

Unregistered

Hi all,

Im in the process of doing up my bathroom and my partner has bought these huge 30 x 60 porcelain tiles (about 2.5-3kg each). Now im a newbie and having tiled the kitchen with 10 x 10 tile where i used PVA to seal the walls and used a ready mixed tile and grout adhesive I went full steam ahead, then i checked the forum and realised the error of my ways.

So the question is, i have half a wall tiled where i used the PVA and the ready mixed adhesive, the tiles appear to have set and there does not appear to be any movement but should i cut my losses take them off and start again or leave them in place and keep an eye on them?

The other wall which is the larger area has not been started yet but where i removed old tiles i have already put PVA on it so now do i need to try to remove this or can i just go over it with an acrylic primer?

Half the wall is render and the other half is painted using that shiny bathroom paint, i have tried sanding this down with a palm sander but its not worked so far its taken the shine off but its still clearly there do i need toremove this completely?

Also the general consenus from what i have read is that the ready mixed adhesive and grout is not best suited for this so what tile adhesive should i get? brand and type would be great?

Thanks in advance

joycey

K

kendo1

Hi
Remember most peeps are at work. I'm sure someone will get back to you soon.
Personally, I'd cut my losses and take the tiles off. You'll probably find that the adhesive has not gone off completely and will scrape off the walls and tiles. The wall needs to be cleaned of pva, hopefully sandpaper will do, and primed with SBR.