Discuss Hi popped over from the electrical forum in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

t&earth

Hi Guys

I’m an electrician popped over from the other forum for some advice Please.

I want to tile my entire ground floor 60sqM using porcelain tiles, the only problem is that the previous floor covering was Marley tiles, which were all taken up to run central heating pipes etc. Now I’m left with a black sticky bituminous based adhesive, which I understand can not be tiled over!
I’ve been told by BAL that I can either re-screed the floor 30mm), scarify the floor removing the bituminous, or ply wood the area, all these suggestions are not an option for various reasons. However I’ve heard that you can lay a slurry mixture of SBR & cement powder and coat the floor with this first before tiling? Is this true or does anyone have a better idea if so I would be very grateful for some help on this.
As stated I’m an electrician and I have decided to do this myself having been let down twice with this job.

Many Thanks
Steve

T

tilerjason

hi ive recently done a similar floor made from asphelt, due to the bitumen and chemical compounds the floor has to be totally sealed either by sbr with cement being added to create a creamy mixture and then brushed on and left to set or by using epoxy bond, normal acrylic bond will only last about a year or so before the chemicals start reacting with each other and start to break down the adhesive , ( thats only if its asphelt like mine ) hope this helps . :thumbsup:

Reply to Hi popped over from the electrical forum in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com

There are similar tiling threads here

Hi guys. Im a carpenter who has tiled a fair few floors over the years as i fit a lot of...
Replies
Views
I had a small leak in the main water line before the stop tap in my 1950s house. The copper pipe...
Replies
Views
Hi all , it’s been years since last posted for advice and your methods . My question is this ...
Replies
Views