Discuss Hi, will my mosaic border increase the risk of adhesive failing? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

tonymacprods

Hi i'm a DIY hobbyist looking to improve my skills..thanks already for the knowledge shared on this forum.

I am currently having my bathroom tiled and decided to use a professional tiler rather than risk making a mess myself. I have 500 x 250 wall tiles with a mosic border.

Unfortunately the mosaic tile is thinner than the main tile by about 2mm (see attached photo). The tiler did point this out before he started but didn't imply there was anyway of getting them flush so I just let him get on with it.

Anyway the tiling is nearly finished and he'll be grouting probably on wed or thursday. My concern is not so much the appearance but I'm starting to get concerned that there may be risk of failure where the mosaic border meets the main wall tile. Specifically I'm assuming that when the border is grouted, the next wall tile will have 1 or 2mm of lip exposed. Should I be concerned about this? The mosaic border does run through a shower bath area but the shower will be used once or twice a month max since its a guest bathroom so its not going to be a particularly wet area. Do I need to worry or should it be fine? Tiler has used BAL rapid flexi, walls are green gyproc primed with BAL APD. He will be using Mapei grout.

Thanks for reading

Tony

Attachments

• mosaic tile.jpg
    44.6 KB · Views: 88
Last edited by a moderator:
T

tfs

its not ideal that the tiler has done this but, it would have been better if you had discussed this with the tiler when he highlighted this to you.

It shouln't make too much difference in terms of deffence against water etc. The grout used is water resistant but not waterproof so water will always be absorbed through to substrate (tanking is the preventsative measure to help eliminate this)

As mentioned already, it will be the finnished that is compromised more than anything.