UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss How do you grout with flexible grouts in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Dan

Admin
Staff member
Staffordshire, UK
Generally I've always found them to be very similar to normal grout. So just work to smallish areas and wash off, then move onto the next area, wash off. And so on.

Avoid getting water into ungrouted joints though - so overlap your areas and never wash off the edge of the area you're cleaning until you've started to grout the area next to it (if that makes any sense at all).

M

MPM

The Issue I have is Bal have great instructions on their packaging, Mapei have no instructions on their packaging, I have been grouting for 12 years and never had a problem before until I used Mapei 132 Beige, Mapei have concluded after a site visit that I had cleaned off with to much water on the sponge, i was given a lesson on how to do it correctly. What makes me angry is the fact that there are no instructions printed on the product. They assume that professionals and DIY's alike know there way of grouting. I'm going to challenge Mapei on this matter to ensure that no one else gets caught out.
Would love to know if any one else has been caught out like this and how they got on with correcting the patchy colour that has been left.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Gloucester
if you have used nothing but bal grouts for years, and then use mapei grout it is completely different to use, as i found out once at my expense !!

only used it a couple of times when the customers have allready bought, but its like most things the more you use it the more you get used to it, but its not my prefered grout, i find it gose off to quickly for my liking.

Andy Allen

TF
Esteemed
Arms
Gloucester