Discuss Kitchen Island in the Australia Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

dave l and l

measured a job awhile ago and i am going to tile it next week. 60 x 60 polished porcelain floor. when i visited last week the kitchen was starting to be installed. floor looks okay, not totally level. the plan was to tile floor then install kitchen island after , which make perfect sense, however contract manager and joiner decided to install island and then tell customer that they always tile round the islands rather than the logical thing,..
i kicked up a fuss to customer, but the joiner and builder are gone and they have told them its bolted down and glued so there aint no moving it.
not tiled round a large island on a slightly of level floor it seems to me like a right pain in the preverbial ..
any one here get the pleasure of doing this much ,. i have been tiling for 15 years and never had the pleasure

bansko

TF
Dave, it doesn't matter that they installed the island, it's normally common practice on domestic jobs I've done ( not that I do many) There could be two or three in a large kitchen but if you set it out properly and take a bit of time then there shouldn't be a problem, if the floor isn't as level or flat as you would like then you may need to tweak a few joints here and there but you've been doing the job long enough it shouldn't be a problem. Good luck.

O

Old Mod

Stop worrying to start with Dave!
Have you never tiled a whole ground floor with a staircase or something in the middle, where all rooms interconnect?
Or even something like two interconnecting rooms with a wall in between and a door at each end?
Principle is just the same.
You would take a line through both doors wouldn't you and meet at the other door at the other end.
Take two parralell lines, one either side of the island, and make sure you stay on them.
If the floor is out of level you should be latexing anyway, esp with polished porcelain.