UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss kitchen, ufh, substrate in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

S

squarecut

I'm a decorator by trade and training as a joiner with a little tiling experience. I'm doing my own place in readiness for a sprog and figure I can do it with a sparks I know as long as I follw the right advice, so I would appreciate any help you can give on the following:

Planning to tear up floorboards, lay down 22mm wbp ply, followed by insulation board, ufh, slc and simple quarry tiles on top.

1. Is 22mm enough? some here seem to favour 25mm
  2. Does any one use wbp T&G boards? if so does this do away with need for noggins?
  3. Whats the best brand of insulation board and what fixings do you use to stick it down? (as well as adhesive?)
  4. Can you recommend a brand of electric ufh?
  5. Ive got a few bags of ardex x77 I'm planning on using, I've had it for a while as project has been delayed by quite a while (kept indoors and dry), has anyone used it?
  6. Finally I'm planning on using 150mm quarry tiles<, the tough uniform oxblood ones you see everywhere.
I'd appreciate any help you can give on this and any tips on where best to source what I need (I'm in Hackney, London)

Thanks all!

D

Daz

In contrast to Whitebeam, I would use insulation boards as I don't like installing electric UFH direct onto ply, just my personal preference.

I use Ardex X77 on walls as it is very good for large formats, but never used it on a floor as I prefer rapid set for floors.

25mm ply will obviously be better than 22mm but as long as you have sufficient noggins and ensure that there is no deflection in the floor, you will be fine.

Check out one of our sponsors, uHeat Underfloor Heating | Electric | Floor Insulation | Uheat, for UFH and insulation boards.