Discuss MapeGrip Plus Thoughts? in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

P

Prem Tiler

I used Mapegrip as advised by my TileGiant which I find great by far the friendliest and most helpful tile supplyer around but.....

.... I found Mapegrip didn't really grip that great! in fact it caused me a mini mere because I made the mistake of trusting it and when I returned to the 1st course I'd had a slip of over 10mm. Luckily I have a built in level in my supervision x ray eyes and spotted it b4 I started banging the rest of the 10x10's on.

But I'll warn you most guys know on here but you may not I'm very new to tiling so my feed back is a novice's.

M

Matt

I used Mapegrip as advised by my TileGiant which I find great by far the friendliest and most helpful tile supplyer around but.....

.... I found Mapegrip didn't really grip that great! in fact it caused me a mini mere because I made the mistake of trusting it and when I returned to the 1st course I'd had a slip of over 10mm. Luckily I have a built in level in my supervision x ray eyes and spotted it b4 I started banging the rest of the 10x10's on.

But I'll warn you most guys know on here but you may not I'm very new to tiling so my feed back is a novice's.

Any feedback is good feedback :)

Did you use MapeGrip Plus (White Lid), Mapegrip D1 (Red Lid) or Mapegrip D2 (Blue Lid)

The MapeGrip Plus is the on that is Mapei's equivalent to White Star. D1 is just a standard tubbed addy (I would imagine something like Green Star?) and D2 is the waterproof (Similar to Blue Star?)

I'm not 100% on BAL products so my comparisons maybe alittle off, if someone could correct me if I'm wrong, that would be great :)

Edited to add: If you are just looking for a tubbed addy to do a kitchen wall and don't need anything special (I.E White addy for stone etc) then Mapestik is a good product. The grip on it is fantastic. The mix is alittle stiff, so you will have arms like Arnie after using it

Last edited by a moderator:
M