Discuss New to to tiling in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

Bathfix Bob

TF
Arms
If you are going to do it, do it right. Don't become one of the thousands of plumbers who throw tiles up and make a right mess.

I'm a plumber/bathroom fitter but I know my limits, I don't touch natural stone. Ceramics and porcelain are the only tiles I fit in bathrooms, anything else is a tilers job.

I would retile your own bathroom or a family members for free and post pics on here and the guys will tell you if you're good enough to tile in someones house. But a tiling course is a must before you do anything, the prep work with tiling is unbelievable.

M

Mike

If you are going to do it, do it right. Don't become one of the thousands of plumbers who throw tiles up and make a right mess.

I'm a plumber/bathroom fitter but I know my limits, I don't touch natural stone. Ceramics and porcelain are the only tiles I fit in bathrooms, anything else is a tilers job.

I would retile your own bathroom or a family members for free and post pics on here and the guys will tell you if you're good enough to tile in someones house. But a tiling course is a must before you do anything, the prep work with tiling is unbelievable.
surely it's all a tilers job?

G

Gazebo

Good luck wotevaz,

You will find nearly all the knowledge on here with regards to every aspect of tiling (I did and I havent gone wrong yet.)

Be sure to use the correct product on the correct substrate for the correct tile(again i learnt nearly all of this from this wonderful forum)

Take your time on every single job and work cleanly.

Do not pay any attention to so called tilers you may bump into on site using pva or tiling onto 9mm plywood (they have been doing it for years and never had any problems.) (trust me there are quite a few out there)

Being a plumber myself I dont wear tight trousers or have a visible bum crack (maybe that is just a Tasmanian plumbers thing)