Discuss Newbie here ...looking for advice please in the Canada Tile Advice area at TilersForums.com.

D

devillindaf

Hi all - just come across this site and congrats to all for the great advice supplied to all - Happy New Year!

Wondered if anyone can throw any light on an issue I have with a walk in shower cubicle. Had new bathroom installed about 2.5 years ago and made the wrong decision (in hindsight) to have "a tiled hole in the wall" type shelf made to house shampoo etc. The shelf was on an outside brick wall.

Shower is fully tiled but after about a year, the tiles directly beneath and on the shelf started to bow and crack, the grouting crumbled and it was obvious that the plaster behind the tiles had "blown" due to water seepage. I had a builder in to totally strip the wall, re plaster and re tile (he did seal the wall prior to tiling) and at the same time I had the hole in the wall bricked up and so had a flat newly tiled wall. Being aware of the problem he crammed loads of grout between the tiles to avoid the same issue.

10 months on and I have the same problem albeit the tiles and grouting are now cracking upwards from the top of the shower tray. The builder has re looked at the damage and cannot understand why it would happen again - there is no "hole in the wall" to allow water seepage and the silicone around the rim of the tray was perfect. We have looked at the outside wall and there are no cracks etc.

Can anyone advise if they have ever encountered this problem before, there is no water pipe in the offending wall and we are now wondering if it could be to do with the shower drain although the damage started at the other end of the shower tray to the drain. I will obviously have to have the wall re tiled again (this involves removal of shower side / door etc) but would like to get to the bottom of why it happened to prevent a third issue in a years time.

By the way the bathroom was installed by a leading DIY chain so not a home DIY job!!!