Discuss Newbie, remodeling en-suite and family bathroom... in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

P

project damager

Hi Everyone

I am new to the site, project manager (buyer / facilities manager by trade), love the site – I have spent a couple of weeks reading posts – fascinating stuff!! I particularly like the posts with photographs, showing progress / work done – really helps to understand…

I recently had a heart attack (early January) and I am taking time off from work part recovery / part er indoors with big list of jobs!!:yes:

I am going to rip out and replace and renew my Ensuite and bathroom…

I have had quotes from various “all in” contractors and have decided to DIY… I will hire a plumber and electrician but PLEASE DO NOT SHOUT AT ME… I have decided to do the tiling myself! I enjoy tiling, actually find it therapeutic and I am not in any dramatic hurry so I can take my time and get it right.

I have pretty much sourced all my white goods from Bathstore – January Sale!

I have gone for a Ceramic Travertine effect tile 31.6 X 45 tile, laid (is this the right word?) in a building brick fashion – hopefully to look like large natural stones. The floor tile is 45 X 45.

Actually, they are a Topps Tile Product but I have found a supplier in the midland at half price! Nice for you guys if you get to supply the product or you tell the client you can get a bit of discount from Topps - nice bit of margin! Let me know if you want details and I will post a link.

I am going to need some support from here, if you guys don’t mind…

I think I have read every “floor” post here and I just want to be absolutely sure…

I have chipboard T & G flooring, some will have to come up for remodeling of pipes and services. I am planning to:

Re-lay T & G

Fix 12mm plywood over / screwed down along every joist at 300mm

Then lay floor tiles on ply, flexable adhesive - fast flex?

Is this OK?