Discuss Overboarding - Need a quick answer please! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

D

diamondtiling

Ive always spaced at 6" intervals (ish) That's 150mm in new money :smilewinkgrin:

Now then....:eek:fftopic:slightly....Plywood - surely you don't install18mm ply ON TOP of existing floorboards?? I know this may have been raised before but as I'm a newbie I thought I'd bring it up. I usually use 12/15mm depending on quality of floorboards.

Back to topic ................ :thumbsup:

Remove the existing chipboard or T&G and replace with 18mm WBP, add extra noggins for strength and overboard with 6mm NMP.

Copy (2) of Photo-0075.jpg Copy (2) of Photo-0069.jpg

:thumbsup:

D

david campbell

i would remove floor boards and replace with 25mm ply and extra noggins
ditto 12mm ply is not sufficient,the ply is not only for a suitable tiling surface but takes into account the moisture and drying out times of the adhesive,so if the ply is too thin then the adhesive won't dry out to spec and you become liable-read the instructions on the adhesive bags-all but webber's anti-dust recommend 15mm or more

i would remove floor boards and replace with 25mm ply and extra noggins
ditto 12mm ply is not sufficient,the ply is not only for a suitable tiling surface but takes into account the moisture and drying out times of the adhesive,so if the ply is too thin then the adhesive won't dry out to spec and you become liable-read the instructions on the adhesive bags-all but webber's anti-dust recommend 15mm or more

The instructions on my adhesive (Weber rapid SPF) says that 9mm ply can be used on floors with no notable deflection. My floor was sound but for peace of mind I screwed the boards down so using 12mm Ply and 10mm marmox board on top should be adequate.

kilty55

TF
Arms
edinburgh