UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss powdery grout Problems in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

C

clecktiler

hi to all, I wonder if anyone can help me out here.

I'm in Norway on holiday but also tileing my sisters bathroom walls. Tiles went on fine but the grouting has been a nightmare.

I'm by no means an expert but I've tiled for the last year or so and mixed the grout to the same consistency as I would in the UK where Ive never had any problems. The man in the shop said it was flexible and entirely suitable walls.

I don't read Norwegian so I'm not sure what the instructions actually said but I would have thought you just mix it like any other grout I've used - however straight away I noticed it was different to the grout I've used in UK - it's just like sand and water mixed together with no 'stickiness' to it. It just slides straight off the float if you don't get it on the wall quick enough.

Cut to the chase, after a few days of drying it's cracked all over the place and is patchy in colour. Some is rock hard like you would expect, not cracked and darker in colour but most is pale grey and powdery and can be scraped out with a finger nail. It comes out in pieces upto a cm long so it has obviously not stuck at all to the edges of the tiles.

The whole lot is going to have to be scraped out and done again.

Does anyone have an idea what's gone wrong?? Or how to prevent another grout disaster??

All help gratefully received.

C

clecktiler

Hi, It looks like its made by 'Adda' and is described as 'Fugemasse Perlefug Lysgra' in a light grey colour and from the details that i can make out it's suitable for joints 2-5mm. I used 3mm spacers so it should be ok in that respect.
Thanks for you prompt answer.