Discuss Preparing bathroom floor for marble tiles - not convinced of plumber's solution in the Bathroom Tiling Advice area at TilersForums.com.

A

achillea

Hi

I'm currently having my bathroom refitted. The old floorboards are very creaky, there is some movement and the boards are all in small pieces. I am having UFH and 50 x 50cm marble tiles fitted. My plumber is intending to put 9mm ply onto the floorboards then lay UFH directly onto of that. I'm no expert but I'm worried that the 9mm won't sort out the movement which will then lead to my rather expensive marble tiles cracking at some point.

Do you think his solution is going to be ok or should we take up the old boards and fit something like 25mm ply or just put a thicker ply onto the existing boards? The plumber also says we don't need tile backer boards as the ply will be sufficient.

He is also not planning on tanking or lining the walls for tiling (around the shower bath) - walls are being skimmed then he is planning on tiling straight onto that (6 inch ceramic tiles from Original Style).

Any advice grateful received!

A

kilty55

TF
Arms
edinburgh
in reply to your plumber who seems to be doing the tiling my advice is dont let him near it full stop

totally wrong prep ,i would advise you lift all the boards up if they are in bad condition and over board floor with a much thicker ply then finish with a backer board that will accomodate your ufh

also if you want it tanked then that would no doubt be an extra cost in the job but speak to who ever is doing the job about it but yes is the way forward

have you not got a tiler lined up?

A

achillea