Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Schluter now has a bench in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

R

Rob Z

Dave, for me the health issues are very real. That is a large reason behind why I almost never use cement board.

One consideration for me is that my two employees were drywall finishers and painters by trade before I hired them, and if this Kerdi board gets so expensive then I'll stick with the less espensive option of being able to pay them to hang drywall and then install the Kerdi fabric. If the job stays the same price but more of the money goes into labor for the men then that for me is the better alternative.

We'll see what is a good choice once I know the pricing.

R

Rob Z

John, the ladies seem to like the corner ones so they can prop their foot on it while shaving their legs. You can figure an extra 2-3 hours of work with one of these prefab things, by the time you've installed it, waterproofed it, and dealt with the extra work of the cuts and angles. I know some guys are swinging for the fence on upgrades like this, but I take another approach and price it mid-range because I want the customer to have something that they will be sure to remember and maybe mention to a friend, neighbor, etc. I do the same thing with tanking the entire shower and selling epoxy grout-basic pricing that covers our labor but not trying to retire off of one job.

R

Rob Z

Mike this will be the thing for me, too. If the goal for the customer is to get a waterproofed shower, and let's say it cost $10 per square foot for labor and all materials (I'm just making that number up). I'm going to go with the combination of products and skilled labor that will MAXIMIZE the amount of labor in the job but still yield the same result (full waterproofing). I'd rather put the dollars in my employees' paychecks for their skilled labor rather than send it off to Germany to the folks at Schluter.