Discuss Screed drying times in Spain in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

T

The hammer

Hi all, has anyone worked in spain or any other hot countries? I am trying to find out what would be a reasonable drying time for a 100mm sand and cement screed on a roof terrace exposed to the sun with temperatures of 25 + degrees

My mum has just had her roof terrace re tiled they screeded it (with 5+1 sharp sand +cement with a waterproof additive, and a very wet mix, see pics ) on a Wednesday and tiled it on the Thursday/Friday sticking it down with Cementocola.

Now i'm no expert on tiling in Spain but with 27 years experience in the UK i think a drying time of "overnight" is totally inadequate.

Any thoughts guys mums terrace 1.jpg mums terrace 2.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
T

The hammer

I get what your saying but think of it this way that a screed in that heat and left uncovered would dry fast, tiling it quickly would allow the screed to cure..

It's the same when tiles are bedded onto sand/cement, it has a slow curing time and set hard..if your ever had to take them up you will see what I mean.

I've tiled plenty of floors in the old days with a cement slurry on a semi dry screed
more recently i have tiled a Lidl store on a semi dry screed with dry cement powder and a vibrating roller and they all bond together perfectly.
But the roof terrace was stuck down a day later so the screed is neither wet or semi dry or cured and whilst you can tile on "green screed" with BAL Green Screed & the likes
the terrace was stuck down with just a standard flexi adhesive, which we are advised in the UK to only use on a fully dried screed. So although its much hotter in Spain surely the screed was not fully dried considering how wet it looks in the pics
I'm just worried that the tiling will debond at some point in the near future

T

The Legend; Phil Hobson RIP

I've tiled plenty of floors in the old days with a cement slurry on a semi dry screed