Guest viewing is limited

Discuss Sealing Shower Tray with flexible grout. in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

I

iamajc

Hi, I'm a plumber with (after reading some of this forum, very) limited tiling experience. After fitting a shower tray at a friends house, it has been set on 18mm ply on floorboards and set into the wall by approx 20mm as corner not square, silicon sealant around back edges.
Friend has then filled remaining gap with rapid set cement and tiled themselves after I expressed doubts about how they wanted it tiled. More of how to set it out than anything else as they wanted to start with full tiles in the corners and let the tiles overhang the tray rather than cutting the tiles to fit flush with the end of the tray and starting centrally.
The wall are plastered with some holes patched with rapid set cement. The tiles are from wickes and are ceramic and printed to look like stone. They have stuck the tiles on with a waterproof adhesive mapia I think not sure if they read the distructions or if the sealed the walls first.
My main concern is that they are doing/have done the grouting today using a waterproof flexible grout(brand unknown to me). I mentioned that they may want to get some coloured sealant to try and match the grout as it is coloured grey. As personally I would seal the vertical corner as well as along the top of the tray as these are the obvious/normal places that the grout could crack up (have just read the sealing over grout thread) and follow the screen manufactures instructions for sealing the screen. They are telling me now that they are not going to use silicon at all as the grout is flexible and waterproof they do not need to use silicon.
Has anyone succesfully sealed a shower tray or bath using flexible grout alone???
They have already repaired the downstairs ceiling after their last shower leaked:mad2:

I

iamajc