UK Tiling Forum for UK Tile Advice

Comply with UK Tiling Standards and Research Tiling on your UK Tiling Forum. The tiling community that provides free wall and floor tile fixing advice to the United Kingdom.

Discuss Start up advice please!! in the UK Tiling Forum area at TilersForums.com.

W

westcountrytile

Good evening guys,

I'm after a bit of advice!

After leaving school i worked as a trainee tiler and then went on to a further 4 of years of this before joining the Army. After leaving the Army 2 years ago and working in a office, this has quickly become very boring!! I am now looking to go self employed as a sole trader. I have booked onto a week long BAL course in October to touch up on skills and make sure that the whole concept of tiling hasn't changed over the last 7 years!!!

I am looking to start off by combining the tiling with maybe some multi drop driving or maybe general labouring, but i am wondering what the best ways are of picking work up? I have spoken to alot of mates that are plasterers, plumbers etc and hopefully they will be able to send work my way but was wondering whether there are any tips you are able to offer to keep a continual flow of work coming through? I am also looking at google addwords, do any of you guys use this? Have you found it worthwhile?

Is there any other ''start up'' advice that you are able to offer?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!!

W

White Room

Hi and welcome.....there's some good tradesmen who are struggling at the moment, I also have had bad times but to the fact I have been knocking around for 40 years albeit not wholly tiling and have had alot of contacts over the years which has kept in ticking over.

Friends and family freebies will help to get some experience back but for paying customers it has to be of quality that the customer is happy with.....good luck in your chosen career.

Last edited by a moderator: